The President of the Republic, Miguel Díaz-Canel Bermúdez, was elected on Monday First Secretary of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Cuba, after the first plenary meeting of that body, elected by the delegates to the 8th Party Congress on Sunday evening.

This was announced by Army General Raúl Castro Ruz, after announcing the 14 members of the Political Bureau, of which nine comrades were ratified and five were incorporated as new members.
Subsequently, the new First Secretary of the Central Committee of the Party introduced the members of the Secretariat and detailed the areas covered by each of them:

Roberto Morales Ojeda, Secretary of Organization and Cadre Policy.

Rogelio Polanco Fuentes, Head of the Ideological Department.

Joel Queipo Ruiz, Head of the Economic Department.

José Ramón Monteagudo Ruiz, Head of the Agrifood Department.

Félix Duarte Ortega, Head of the Industry, Construction, Tourism, Transportation and Services Department.

Jorge Luis Broche Lorenzo, Head of the Education, Sports and Science Department.

As detailed in this first moment of the Closing of the 8th Congress, the scrutiny of the voting carried out by the delegates this April 18, to elect the new members of the Central Committee, corroborated that 100% of the ballots were valid.

All members were elected with more than 99.32% of the votes.